Aussie newcomer scoops top medal at World Whisky Masters

Maritime Tasmanian whisky distillery Waubs Harbour has been awarded the highest accolade at this year’s World Whisky Masters.

The prestigious international spirits competition by The Spirits Business recognises the finest World Whisky brands on the world stage, as judged in a blind tasting in London. It awarded Waubs Harbour with a Master medal for its Port Storm whisky, as well as Gold medals for its Waubs Original and Founder’s Reserve whiskies.

Regarding the Port Storm Whisky, one judge said: “Quite smooth for the higher ABV. Woody and wine notes present with heat on the aftertaste.” 

Founders Reserve impressed with its “floral, nutty, matured oak, dried stone fruits, baked pecan cake, and a rounded long layered finish”.

Waubs Harbour is a Tasmanian family run distillery, founded and owned by husband and wife Tim and Bec Polmear in partnership with Tim’s brother, Rob Polmear. Rob’s previous experience includes being Head of Production for Lark Distillery and Head Distiller of Overeem Whisky.

“As a first time entrant into the World Whisky Masters after officially opening our distillery and releasing our Flagship Series earlier this year, we’re thrilled to have been awarded a Master medal and two Gold medals,” said co-founder Bec Polmear.

“For us, the win is confidence that the whisky we’re making is truly world class and stands out when set alongside some of the world’s best. For all three whiskies in our Flagship Series to win a medal is something we’re very proud of.”

Waubs Harbour Distillery sits literally metres from the edge of the ocean on the far east coast of Tasmania, located in a former oyster hatchery and neighbouring old abalone farm buildings. The whisky distillery now spans across four buildings at the gulch in Bicheno, reminiscent of Scottish maritime distilleries like Talisker.

The three award winning whiskies are now available at Waubs Harbour’s website:

View the full results of the World Whisky Masters, including all the Aussie winners, here.

Success! You're on the list.

Categories: News